House Call Educator of the Year Award 

Background & Purpose

The AAHCM House Call Educator of the Year Award recognizes an educator who mirrors the highest
standards of excellence in teaching home care medicine, has made significant educational impacts on
the academic advancement of students studying home care medicine, and has made long-standing
contributions to the profession in the academic setting. (Must be an AAHCM member)


Demonstrated accomplishments to home care medicine as an educator.

  • Positively impacted patient resources, patient access and/or patient education
  • Encouraged collaboration that resulted in improved patient and professional education

Has made significant impacts on students, peers, academic institutions, and the home care

  • Mentored home care clinicians, allied health professionals and other learners
  • Has delivered quality education in academic and professional settings
  • Exemplifies and encourages home care practice principles in his/her teachings
  • Collaborated with other disciplines regarding home care medicine education

Demonstrated leadership, compassion, and innovation in his/her role as an educator

  • Created innovative teaching tools, methods, resources to further home care education
  • Has held educational leadership positions
  • Led or developed training sessions, workshops, or mentorships

Demonstrated involvement in educational initiatives that have furthered the image of home-based
medical care.

  • Provided home care education in a variety of settings
  • Engaged in initiatives that have positively impacted the field and/or has extensively published
  • Is an advocate of home care medicine


Nominees must be AAHCM members in good standing. Self nominations are accepted. Current members of the AAHCM Board of Directors or AAHCM Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated for this award.

Nominations Process

All nominations must include a copy of the nominee's CV and 3 reference letters to be considered. Supporting documentation such as formal commendations, citations or awards, newspaper or magazine articles, or other media-related profiles will be accepted, but shall serve only as evidence to support the nomination, and are NOT required.

An institution may not submit more than two award submissions per awards cycle. National institutions will be
defined by state. Should the Awards Committee receive more than two award submissions from the same
(state) institution, the burden of submission selection will fall on the submitting institution.


An award plaque will be presented to the awardee at the next AAHCM Annual Meeting. The awardee will also receive a $1000 monetary award, and a complimentary one-year membership.

Review Process

The Awards and Research Committees will establish a review panel consisted of members from each committee to review applications and select an award recipient.

Past Winners

2023 Melissa Morgan-Gouveia, MD
2022 Rachel Miller, MD, MSEd
2020 Katherine Wang, MD
2018 Konstantinos Deligiannidis, MD MPH FAAFP
2017 Yasmin Meah, MD